• Download mobile app
25 May 2024, Edition - 3238, Saturday

Trending Now

  • The film where Bobby Simha and Yogi Babu are scheduled to act together is titled ‘Nonviolence’.
  • NTK leader Seeman yields a challenge. Vows to dismantle party if BJP gets more votes than his party in the constituencies that they are contesting .
  • EPS condemns Kerala govt for having sent a letter to Centre seeking to construct a new dam after demolishing the Mullaiperiyar Dam.
  • Schools to reopen on June 6 for students from Class 1 to XII in TN : Education Department


BJP wins 10 seats in MP local body elections

Covai Post Network


The BJP has won in eight of the 10 civic bodies in Madhya Pradesh. The Vyapam scam appeared to have left no dent on the ruling party’s prospects in the local body elections held on August 12.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi thanked the voters, tweeting: “M.P. civic poll results are gladdening. I thank people of M.P. for reposing their trust in BJP. I salute efforts of karyakartas [workers] and party leaders.”

The BJP won in Morena, Ujjain, Harda and Chakghat in Rewa district; Bhainsdehi in Betul district; Kotar in Satna; Suwasara in Mandsaur; and Vidisha.

A Congress candidate was elected president of the Sarangpur municipality in Rajgarh district and an Independent in Guhwara in Chhattarpur.

The BJP had swept the civic polls held in the State earlier this year. The elections were not held to these 10 municipal bodies then for various reasons.

“Thank you very much for your continued support and faith. MP will continue to work under your dynamic leadership,” tweeted Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, who has been facing demands for his resignation over the scandal.

“The State is moving rapidly on the path of development. It has no place for negative politics. The sooner Opposition realises it, the better,” he said in another tweet.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter