• Download mobile app
06 Dec 2023, Edition - 3067, Wednesday

Trending Now

  • AIADMK ends its alliance with the BJP.
  • ED searches are underway at 30 different locations in Tamil Nadu
  • PM Modi distributes appointment letters to the newly inducted recruits during Rozgar Mela.


Clean sweep by AIADMK in TN polls

Covai Post Network


Chennai: The ruling AIADMK in Tamil Nadu on Tuesday emerged victorious in all three constituencies — Thanjavur, Aravakurichi and Thirupparankundram — where elections were held on 19 November.

Counting of votes in the three seats began amid tight security this morning, in which AIADMK candidates had a clear lead from the beginning. In Aravakurichi, AIADMK’s V Senthil Balaji won against DMK’s K C Palanisamy while at Thirupparankundram the ruling party’s AK Bose defeated the main opposition’s P Saravanan. In Thanjavur, AIADMK’s M Rengasamy emerged triumphant over DMK’s Anjugam Bhoopathy.

Postal votes were the first to be taken for counting followed by the EVM votes. Two hundred and twenty-five counting personnel were deployed in the centres. AIADMK emerged as the clear winner followed by DMK and BJP in all the three constituencies. DMDK and other parties were much behind.

Celebrations began at the AIADMK headquarters in the city as soon as the candidates started to lead in all the three constituencies. Flag waving, slogan shouting and paal abhishegams to the portraits of Chief Minister and party supremo J Jayalalithaa — this was the scene at the AIADMK headquarters in Royapettah. A never-ending echo of Amma chants could be heard from afar. Long lines of fire crackers were lit up at regular intervals.

Speaking to media persons, party member Fathima Babu said, “Amma’s good work for Tamil Nadu’s prosperity is the reason for this victory. She is a very hard worker. This victory just shows how much love the people of the state have towards our leader.”

R Kirubakaran, a party cadre from Kallakurchi, said, “I have travelled all the way here to celebrate this huge victory. Though Amma did not campaign for the elections, her name was enough for this victory. The faith towards Amma is key for this victory.”

The party cadres also celebrated the victory outside the Apollo Hospitals where the AIADMK supremo has been admitted. Members were seen distributing sweets and dancing in front of the hospital following the victory in the three constituencies. They flocked the office premises and celebrated the by-election victory by dancing and distributing sweets to people. More and more people started gathering at the office ground as results were being telecast via a huge LED screen which was set up for the members. The party members proclaimed their love for the AIADMK supremo and dedicated the victory to her.


AIADMK : 1,01,333
DMK : 74,487
BJP : 3,806


AIADMK : 84,683
DMK : 53,522
BJP : 5,439


AIADMK : 62,825
DMK : 42,612
BJP : 1,901

Subscribe To Our Newsletter