• Download mobile app
30 Sep 2022, Edition - 2635, Friday

Trending Now

  • Delhi reports 88 new cases, 82 recoveries & zero deaths in the past 24 hours. Positivity rate at 1.01%
  • India sharpens stand on Ukraine war but business as usual with Russia
  • Senior advocate R Venkataramani appointed as the new Attorney General of India for a period of three years.


High turnout, peaceful polls in TN, Puducherry

Covai Post Network


Puducherry: The three Assembly constituencies of Tamil Nadu and one segment in Puducherry registered a large voter turnout amid heavy CRPF presence today.

According to the Election Commission, Aravakurichi recorded about 82 per cent polling, while Thanjavur registered 69 per cent and Thirupparankundram saw about 70 per cent voting.

Sources said the polls largely passed peacefully. “The Electronic Voting Machines in a few polling booths had some technical snags, which was rectified immediately, and by and large the elections were peaceful,” an official said.

It was a five-cornered contest in the elections to Aravakurichi, Thanjavur and Thiruparankundram, and a particularly headed contest between the ruling AIADMK and arch rival DMK.

The Nellithope elections in Puducherry saw more than 80 per cent turnout, with the Union Territory’s Chief Minister and senior Congress leader V Narayanasamy contesting against his arch rival and AIADMK candidate Om Sakthi Segar.

The election results will be announced on November 22 and the date before which election shall be completed is on November 24.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter