• Download mobile app
19 Apr 2024, Edition - 3202, Friday

Trending Now

  • IPL 2024 begins with a bang. First contest between CSK and RCB.
  • Election commission allots mike symbol to Naam Thamizhar Katchi
  • AIADMK promises to urge for AIIMS in Coimbatore, in its election manifesto.
  • Ponmudi becomes higher education minister.


Mahadik, Kush win Euro JK 16 National Racing Championship

Covai Post Network


The 19th JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing Championship got off to a flying start today, with Krishnaraaj Mahadik pulling off a dramatic win in Race 2 of the Euro JK 16 category here.

The last race of the day proved to be the most exciting one as Akhil Rabindra’s car went on a tailspin in the opening lap itself, forcing a restart. The current champion in the National Karting Championship, Ricky Donison, tried to power his way past the traffic, but was deemed to have jump-started and was penalised by 10 seconds, along with Dhruv Mohite for the same reason costing him a podium finish.

Donison had finished the race ahead of the pack, having taken the lead in the ninth lap, the fastest of the day, clocking 1:01.586 minutes. But his over excitement at the start meant that he had to be satisfied with a sixth-place.

Akhil had a much more fruitful morning, having finished second in Race 1 in the Euro JK 16.

Kush Maini grabbed the honours, winning the race in a canter and seeming set for an encore in the afternoon. But he slipped to the fifth place after the mishap at the start and the delayed resumption.

Mahadhik of Kolhapur, however, disregarded all the commotion around him and moved at a steady pace to take the most points in this race.

Anindita Reddy of Hyderabad had the best day as he finished third in Race 1 and second in Race 2.

In the LGB Formula 4, Vishnu Prasad of Meco Racing won his first race of the weekend in a canter. He had to ward off a stiff challenge from Dark Don Racing’s Sudarshan Rao and Ashwin Sundar.

Vishnu who is already having a decent run in the Karting Championship so far began the race as one of the strong contenders. He finished 15 laps in 18:20.004 minutes, having clocked the fastest lap in the third in 1:11.202 minutes.

In the Indian Touring Cars, Ashish Ramaswamy of Red Rooster Performance proved to be best of the day, winning Race 1 easily. The Bengaluru driver finished 10 laps in 12.24.973 minutes. Prime Racing’s Rajaram C and Vidyaprakash Damodaran both of Coimbatore, finished second and third.

Tomorrow promises to be an exciting day with two races in the Euro JK 16, two in the LGB Formula 4 and one in the ITC category.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter