• Download mobile app
16 Apr 2024, Edition - 3199, Tuesday

Trending Now

  • IPL 2024 begins with a bang. First contest between CSK and RCB.
  • Election commission allots mike symbol to Naam Thamizhar Katchi
  • AIADMK promises to urge for AIIMS in Coimbatore, in its election manifesto.
  • Ponmudi becomes higher education minister.


Nayan, Vishnu, Ashish in the lead, after Round 2

Covai Post Network


Nayan Chatterjee consolidated his position in the second round of the 19th JK Tyre-FMSCI National Racing Championship in Coimbatore at the Kari Motor Speedway, by winning both his Euro JK 16 Races in style.

Things were not that smooth In the LGB Formula 4 for Chennai-racer Vishnu Prasad, who had to utilize all his fighting acumen and driving skills to jump into the lead. He picked up 28 points over the weekend for a cumulative total of 36 points.

Ashish Ramaswamy too had to work hard to win his race to maintain his total dominance in the JK Touring Cars category. Nayan Chatterjee is the runaway leader at present in the Euro JK 16 class, having won as many as four races until now. He has 58 points, 10 clear of the second-placed Ananth Shanmugam. Dhruv Mohite is at third with 39 points.

The LGB Formula 4 saw a stunning finish, with Ashwin Sundar of Dark Don Racing outsmarting Vishnu Prasad of Meco Racing in the final home stretch. He was, however, handed a 10-second penalty for his driving which saw him slip down to fourth position. The penalty deduction saw Raghul Rangasamy move up the ladder to first position. Vishnu took the second place.

The bitterness was carried over into the second race too. Vishnu however held his nerve this time and jumped into the lead quickly to win the race. Pole starter, Raghul Rangasamy took the second place while Ashwin was forced to pull out in the seventh lap.

Ashish Ramaswamy of Red Rooster Performance continued to dominate the JK Touring Cars class, winning his fourth race in succession. But, he faced a tough challenge from Deepak Chinnappa of Race Conceot, who was breathing down his neck all through the 10 laps.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter