December 6, 2017
In the pipeline for the past several months a Cine Museum came into being in this hill station on Wednesday. Christened the “Assems Cine Museum” it has been promoted by the Assembly Rooms an iconic landmark institution located on the Government Botanical Garden road.
Run by a public trust with the Governor of Tamil Nadu as the ex-officio patron, the Collector of Nilgiris as the ex-officio president and a few prominent citizens of the hill station as members the Assembly Rooms was purchased by the then Governor of Madras Presidency Lord Willingdon and his wife Lady Willingdon in 1922 “with a view to devoting it to public use” . The trust came into being on 3rd November 1923.
Housed in a heritage building the institution has been espousing the cause of arts and entertainment for well over a century.The centenary of the Assembly Rooms was celebrated in 1986.
Renovations have been carried out periodically. It was last closed for a face lift during August 2012.After a major make over which included the replacement of projectors and sound system with latest digital ones the theatre was re-opened during November 2015.
Since the projectors and other accessories had become outdated the management decided to create a museum in order to preserve them for posterity.
It has been named as “Assems Cine Museum”.Among the items showcased are two Bauer projectors made in Germany and purchased about 60 years ago through the International Talkie Equipment Company,a film re-winding table, film reels,spools,mirrors,old gramophone records,slides,carbon rods and old photographs including those of Lord and Lady Willingdon..
Dedicating the museum to the public the Collector of Nilgiris and President of Assembly Rooms Ms. Innocent Divya hoped that in course of time it would become a major tourist attraction.
Among those present were members of the Board of Trustees Ms.Geetha Srinivasan and Mr.Rajesh Nahar.