• Download mobile app
25 Sep 2022, Edition - 2630, Sunday

Trending Now

  • Covid 19: India reports 16,167 new cases and 41 deaths in last 24 hours
  • SP leader’s car hit by truck, dragged for 500 metres in UP’s
  • Breaking glass ceiling, CSIR gets first woman director general in N Kalaiselvi


Pondy resort where MLAs stay full till month end

AR Meyyammai


As this is resort time once again for the politicians of AIADMK, The Covai Post checked out the availability of rooms in the Windflower Resorts and Spa at Chinnaveerampattinam near Puducherry.

Windflower is a chain of luxurious resorts having its facility in Vythiri in Kerala and Coorg, Bandipur and Mysuru in Karnataka.

The resort, as expected, is out of bounds for tourists. Its website says all the suite and studio rooms, both water and garden views, are booked for the next few days. It asks you to make a request so that the hotel management may consider and get back to you. When TCP contacted over phone, the receptionist said rooms are not available until September 1.

With the 18 MLAs supporting sidelined AIADMK general secretary TTV Dhinakaran having been herded into the luxurious seaside resort on Tuesday last, it is not surprising that all rooms in the resort are booked for the next few days. Cumbum MLA S T K Jakkaiyan, however, told TCP that they would be staying there for a couple of days more. Perhaps, they expect Governor (in-charge of Tamil Nadu) Ch.Vidyasagar Rao to take a decision on calling out for floor test within that time, though Dhinakaran per se has been asking for a change in the chief ministership. But it remains to be seen whether the Governor will call for a floor test.

It may be noted that in mid-February, around 100 AIADMK MLAs had stayed in the Golden Bay Resort at Koovathur on the East Coast Road in Kancheepuram district for over a week, at the behest of the now jailed AIADMK general secretary V K Sasikala, until they attended the assembly session to support the Edappadi K Palaniswami ministry’s confidence motion.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter