• Download mobile app
22 Feb 2024, Edition - 3145, Thursday

Trending Now

  • Just wait and watch on the number of allies that are going to break off DMK: AIADMK leader EPS
  • BJP MLA Vanathi Srinivasan ‘s office gets ISO Certificate, in a first in TN
  • They said it is difficult to get me into politics, it is even more difficult to get me out : MNM Kamal Hassan
  • We shall enhance Kashmir’s beauty as a tourist destination so much that tourists will never think of Switzerland: PM Modi


Vasan’s TMC not to contest Thanjavur and Aravakurichi polls

Covai Post Network


Chennai: Tamil Manila Congress (TMC) leader G K Vasan today announced that his party will not contest in the elections in Thanjavur, Aravakurichi and also in the by-election in Thirupparankundram constituency.

Addressing media persons at the party head office in Teynampet here, he said that the decision was taken after consulting the district heads and party members. “In the past 15 years there have been 22 by-elections and it is only the ruling party which has emerged victorious, no matter how hard the other parties try,” Vasan said. He also said that there was no politics involved in him taking part in the all-party meeting convened by the DMK on Tuesday over the Cauvery issue. “TMC took part in it solely keeping the welfare of farmers in mind,” he said. Vasan also stressed that soon a full-time Governor should be appointed to the state.

It may be noted that the PWF, comprising the VCK, MDMK, CPI and CPI (M), is boycotting the elections. The election is scheduled to take place on 19 November per an announcement by the Election Commission after it was cancelled on 16 May. The polls were cancelled in Thanjavur and Aravakurichi following the seizure of a huge amount of money ahead of the 16 May polls, while a by-poll was necessitated in Thirupparankundram as the AIADMK’s S M Seenivel passed away days after the results were announced.

Meanwhile, filing of nominations for polling in the three constituencies began today. Major parties that are contesting in the elections have already announced their candidates.

The ruling AIADMK had announced its candidates on 19 October. M Rengasamy, former Transport Minister Senthil Balaji and A K Bose will contest from Thanjavur, Aravakurichi and Thirupparankundram respectively. The DMK has fielded the same candidates who were announced for the 16 May assembly polls. K C Palanisamy will contest from Aravakurichi, Anjugam Bhoopathy from Thanjavur and P Saravanan from Thirupparankundram. The PMK has announced that Baskaran, G Kunjithapatham and D Selvam will contest in Aravakurichi, Thanjavur and Thirupparankundram respectively. The BJP is expected to announce its candidate list soon. Counting of votes in the three constituencies will take place on 22 November and the results will be announced the same day.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter