• Download mobile app
27 Oct 2021, Edition - 2297, Wednesday

Trending Now

  • 34 dead as record rains lash Uttarakhand, trigger floods
  • Melbourne welcomes vaccinated Sydney residents without quarantine
  • India reports 14,623 new #COVID19 cases, 19,446 recoveries & 197 deaths in the last 24 hrs as per Union Health Ministry


Aravakurichi, Thanjavur polls on November 19

Covai Post Network


The polls for Aravakurichi and Thanjavur Assembly constituencies and the bypoll for Thirupparankundram Assembly constituency would be held on November 19, a senior official of the the Election Commission of India said on Monday.

The Election Commission had cancelled the polls for Aravakurichi and Thanjavur Assembly constituencies, originally scheduled along with all other constituencies on May 16, following seizure of a huge sum of money by officials.

The bypoll for Thirupparankundram constituency was necessitated following the death of AIADMK member S.M. Seenivel, who won the seat but passed away before he took oath as the member of the Assembly.

The gazette notification for polls in Aravakurichi and Thanjavur Assembly constituencies would be issued on October 26 and the last days of filing nominations is November 2. The date for scrutiny of nomination is November 3 and the last date for withdrawal of candidatures is November 5.

The counting of votes would be held on November 22. The Model Code of Conduct would come into force with immediate effect in districts where the constituencies are located, the Commission said in a press release.

Nellithope bypoll on same date

The Commission has set November 19 for the by-election for the Nellithope constituency in Puducherry from where Chief Minister V. Narayanasamy is seeking election.

Last month, ruling Congress legislator A. John Kumar had resigned, vacating the seat for Narayanasamy to face election before the December deadline.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter