• Download mobile app
13 Nov 2018, Edition - 1218, Tuesday

Trending Now

  • NCP president Sharad Pawar hit out at the BJP-led central government saying that it failed to formulate right policies for farmers
  • Open court hearing for Sabarimala review petitions: SC sets Jan 2019 date
  • 12-day-old baby killed by monkey in Agra
  • According to reports, both RBI and government could soften their stance in the RBI board meeting on November 19
  • BJP MLA in Rajasthan Habibbiur Rehman resigns from the party, expected to join Congress
  • AP CM Chandrababu Naidu to meet West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee in Kolkata on 19th November
  • Former civil servants write to President highlighting the delay in CAG audit reports on DemMo and Rafale deal

Tamilnadu News

All disqualified AIADMK MlAs are together: Dhinakaran aide

Covai Post Network

Chennai: There is no split in the 18 disqualifed legislators declared disqualified legislator Thanga Tamilselvan here on Tuesday.

He told media persons that reports appearing in a section of the media as motivated rumours that few MLAs were ready to cross over to EPS OPS camp. The disqualified MLA and close Dhinakatan aide said that the ruling AIADMK cannot even attract even one of the 18 disqualified MLAs.

Thangatamilselvan said his decision to withdraw his case in Madras High Court challenging the disqualification is due to his loss of hope to get justice from the judiciary.

“That does not mean there is a split in 18 disqualified legislators,” Tamilselvan said. The ruling AIADMK cannot lure even one of the disqualified MLAs.

The Tamil Nadu Fisheries Minister D.Jayakumar said those who have left the party will return as it was the compulsion of time.

Eighteen AIADMK legislators were disqualified by Tamil Nadu Assembly Speaker P.Dhanapal after they petitioned the Governor seeking a change in leadership of the government. They had in writing expressed loss of confidence in Chief Minister Edapaddi Palaniswami.

The disqualified legislators had challenged Speaker’s action and on June 14, a two member bench of Madras High Court gave a split verdict with the Chief Justice Indira Banerjee upholding the disqualification while companion judge Justice M. Sundar holding it was not valid.