• Download mobile app
27 Nov 2022, Edition - 2693, Sunday

Trending Now

  • ISRO successfully launches PSLV-C54 carrying observation satellite and 8 nano-satellites
  • BJP president Nadda releases manifesto for Gujarat assembly polls; Key promises
  • Security forces kill four Maoist militants in encounter in Chhattisgarh

Tamilnadu News

Disqualified AIADMK MLAs moved to a resort at Courtallam

Covai Post Network


Chennai : MLAs owing allegiance to TTV Dhinakaran have once again been herded to Courtallam resort at Tirunelveli ahead of crucial judgment relating to the disqualification of 18 MLAs, expected to be delivered anytime now.

If the speaker’s action in disqualifying the 18 MLAs belonging to the TTV Dhinakaran camp is nullified by the Madras High Court, it would then lead to dramatic political developments brining the government in minority in the assembly.

Three sitting MLAs of the assembly arrived at the resort late on Monday night to join the 18 disqualified AIADMK MLAs who had signed a memorandum to the governor seeking leadership change in the government in Tamil Nadu.

Assembly speaker P Dhanpal had disqualified these 18 MLAs and in effect shored up the strength of the EPS-OPS in the assembly. It is on this majority that the government survives.

An adverse verdict in the Madras High Court will put the government under severe stress. The guarding of his MLAs follows a recent meeting between Dhinakaran and his aunt VK Sasikala at the Bangalore prison where she is lodged.

MLAs belonging to the Dhinakaran camp told media persons that they had decided to stay at one place, but some MLAs would be going to a place near Courtallam. Thanga Tamizh Selvan told media persons that he and some other MLAs were going to take part in Thamirabarani Pushkaram and stay at Courtallam for a few days.

The disqualified MLAs had challenged the decision in the Madras High Court, which pronounced a split verdict following which the case was referred to a third judge M Satyanarayana. This was done as per the directions of the Supreme Court.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter