• Download mobile app
01 Mar 2024, Edition - 3153, Friday

Trending Now

  • MNM – DMK seat sharing possible before Feb 28. Actor Kamal Hassan to leave country on Feb 29 for a film shoot.
  • Speaker Appavu accepts resignation of Congress MLA Vijayadharini.
  • Google pay to be suspended from June in America : Google
  • Unless there is reservation for dalits, it is impossible for them to contest in elections : NTK leader Seeman.


First time voters to the fore

C.B. Anushri


Many youngsters will be casting their vote for the first time in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The process began on April 11 and will continue till May 19 . Over 1.5 crore electors in the 18-20 year age group are eligible to vote for the first time. All the citizens who turn 18 in January 2019 and registered for the elections will be able to vote.

Mixed responses were received from them when asked about their opportunity to vote.

”I feel like a responsible citizen” said Abirami, a law student.

”I am confused as to whom to vote for as no party has taken care to notice the problems faced by students,” said Nirmala, a botany student.

“The propaganda of different political parties talked about the problems caused due to GST. Hope the next government will take steps to provide equal opportunity for all the sections of the society to progress,” said Manasa, a B.Com student.

Youngsters studying in other places in India have gone home to cast their vote others will vote through postal vote. Some of the students above 18 years were disappointed as they did not receive their voter identity card.

Phase 2 polling is taking place in Assam, Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Bengal, Chhattisgarh and Union Territory Puducherry today. The Vellore constituency has been disqualified from elections due to the proved misbehavior of the candidate from the DMK party.

The introduction of VVPAT machine for the elections is a good initiative by the Election Commission of India which will help the old people and the first time voters.

The current MP of Coimbatore district is P Nagarajan, Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam candidate in 2014 and he won the Lok Sabha elections by defeating BJP candidate.

The main competition in Coimbatore is between BJP's CP Radhakrishnan and CPI(M) PR Natarajan. Apart from BJP, AIADMK formed an  alliance with PMK, DMDK, Tamil Maanila Congress, Puthia Tamilagam, Puthiya Needhi Katchi and DMK has an alliance with Congress, CPI(M), CPI, MDMK, VCK, IUML, KMDK and IJK.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter