• Download mobile app
24 Feb 2024, Edition - 3147, Saturday

Trending Now

  • In the next two to three days, Delhi CM Aravind Kejriwal will be arrested by ED: Delhi Minister Sourav Bharadwaj
  • Omni buses charging exorbitantly should be penalised by cancelling the permit: Chennai HC.
  • Fast bowler Aakash Deep takes three wicket in his debut test match against England.


FMSCI Racing Championship: Terry Grant set to unveil new stunts

Covai Post Network


International stunt driver Terry Grant is line up as the show stopper for the 19th JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing Championship, on the season’s last race-day tomorrow.

The 23 times world record holder from the United Kingdom is expected to unveil a new set of jaw-dropping stunts that are sure to give local fans the thrill of their lives and among other things, Terry is renowned for leaping out of a fast-moving car and getting back into it.

Meanwhile, Hyderabad’s Anindith Reddy has already set alight the third and penultimate round, by throwing open the Euro JK 16 championship battle by winning both his races today, with race leaders Vishnu Prasad and Asish Ramaswamy winning their respective categories on expected lines.

Twenty-six-year-old Anindith exhibited pace, skill and determination all through the day, jumping to number three, with 58 points now and two more races to go through tomorrow to set himself up for striking gold in the final round at the Buddh International Circuit next month.

Ananth Shanmugam of Bengaluru and Nalwalla of Mumbai grabbed the second and third positions in both the races. Ananth held on to his number two position, at 64 points, while Nalwalla remains way behind at 29. Dhruv Mohite is at fourth with 44 points.

The Euro JK 16 leader continues to be Nayan Chatterjee, despite having a quiet day and the Mumbai lad finished fourth in both his races and has a cumulative total of 68 points, still 4 ahead of Ananth.

In the LGB Formula 4, Chennai’s Vishnu Prasad took one step closer towards the title by winning his race comfortably. He finished the 15 laps in 19:58.273 minutes to take his total to 46 points.

Saran of Privateer was overtaken by the other main contenders too, Raghul Rangasamy (Meco), with 37 points and Rohit Khanna (Dark Don), with 21, to keep the championship open till the final round.

In the JK Touring Cars too, there was a minor upset in the morning, when overwhelming favourite and leader Asish Ramaswamy was beaten to second place in the qualifying rounds. Deepak Chinnappa of Race Concepts of Bangalore like Ashish, took the pole by clocking the fastest lap, at 1:11.456 minutes, in the morning.

Results (Day one): Euro JK 16: Race one: 1. Anindith Reddy (15:47.319); 2. Ananth Shanmugam (15:49.236); 3. Mohammed Nalwalla (15:53.799)

Race two: 1. Anindith Reddy (17:20.512); 2. Ananth Shanmugam (17:22.979); 3. Mohammed Nalwalla (17:23.637)

LGB Formula 4: Race one: 1. Vishnu Prasad (19:58.283); 2. Raghul Rangasamy (19:58.303); 3. Rohit Khanna (20:08.290)

JK Touring Cars: Race one: 1. Asish Ramaswamy (14:16.606); 2. Deepak Chinnappa (14:24.043); 3. Vijay Kumar B (14:25.395).

Subscribe To Our Newsletter