• Download mobile app
28 Feb 2024, Edition - 3151, Wednesday

Trending Now

  • MNM – DMK seat sharing possible before Feb 28. Actor Kamal Hassan to leave country on Feb 29 for a film shoot.
  • Speaker Appavu accepts resignation of Congress MLA Vijayadharini.
  • Google pay to be suspended from June in America : Google
  • Unless there is reservation for dalits, it is impossible for them to contest in elections : NTK leader Seeman.


15 candidate nominations accepted for Thanjavur

Covai Post Network


Thanjavur: Fifteen nominations were accepted, while 21 nominations were rejected, following the scrutiny for the Thanjavur Assembly constituency today.

The 15 candidates include eight independents. The scrutiny was done by revenue divisional officer C Suresh, who is the returning officer for Thanjavur constituency, in the presence of all the candidates who had filed nominations.

A total of 29 candidates had filed 36 nomination papers from October 26 to November 2 for the November 19 elections.

Accepted nominations include M Rengasamy (AIADMK), Dr Anjugam Boopathy (DMK), V Abdullah Sait (DMDK), M S Ramalingam (BJP), G Kunjithapatham (PMK), A Nalladurai (NTK) and S Karikalcholan (NCP), apart from independents.

Anjugam is the lone woman candidate.

Those who wish to withdraw nominations can do so before 3 pm on November 5. After that, the list of final candidates will be announced and symbols for independents allotted, Suresh said.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter