• Download mobile app
13 Apr 2024, Edition - 3196, Saturday

Trending Now

  • IPL 2024 begins with a bang. First contest between CSK and RCB.
  • Election commission allots mike symbol to Naam Thamizhar Katchi
  • AIADMK promises to urge for AIIMS in Coimbatore, in its election manifesto.
  • Ponmudi becomes higher education minister.


Three top seeds suffer shocking defeats in Round 1

Covai Post Network


While most top seeded players eased their way into Round-2 Qualifiers, three top rankers, including No.3, Rahul Sadhwani (India), suffered shocking defeats on the opening day of the LMW ILTF Men’s Futures International Tennis Tournament 2016, held at the Perks Tennis Centre here in Coimbatore on Saturday.

In a tough battle with the unseeded Indian Siddarth Ponnala, Rahul was defeated in three sets, 6-4, 6-7(8), and 6-3.

Other top seeds to bite the dust were No.6 Rishabdev Raman, and No.7, Chinmay Pradhan, who were comprehensively beaten in two sets by Raghav Jaisinghani (6-3, 6-3), and Fahad Mohammed (6-2, 6-2) respectively.

It was a smooth ride for other top-seeded players into the Round-2 qualifier, with easy wins over their first-round opponents.

Here are the results of Day-1 at the tournament.

Qualifying Round 1

Paramveer Singh Bajwa (IND) [1] beat Rishi Reddy (IND) 7-5, 7-6(5)
Siddarth Ponnala (IND) beat Rahul Sadhwani (IND) [3] 6-4, 6-7(8), 6-3
Alex Solanki (IND) beat Basil Khuma (IND) 6-2, 6-4
Ramakrishnan Rangaraju (IND) beat Raswant Ravi (IND) 6-2, 6-7(3), 7-6(4)
Ankit Chopra (IND) beat Bharath Nishok Kumaran (IND) 6-4, 6-4
Gokul Suresh (IND) [4] beat Sahej Maker (GBR) 6-4, 6-1
Dhruv Sunish (IND) beat Aaditya Tewari (IND) 6-1, 6-3
Jagmeet Singh (IND) beat Ravishankar Sathiyaraj (IND) 6-4, 6-0
Rashein Sameul (IND) [5] beat Arnav Alok Goel (IND) 6-1, 6-0
Raghav Jaisinghani (IND) beat Rishabdev Raman (IND) [6] 6-3, 6-3
Faisal Qamar (IND) beat Rithvik Anand (IND) 6-4, 6-0
Fahad Mohammed (IND) beat Chinmay Pradhan (IND) [7] 6-2, 6-2
Rian Pandole (IND) beat Rohit Rampuria (IND) 6-1, 6-3
Jatin Dahiya (IND) [8] beat Harnish Ravishankar (IND) 6-3, 6-2
Anvit Bendre (IND) [2] beat Yaseen Ibrahim (RSA) 6-2, 6-4

Subscribe To Our Newsletter