• Download mobile app
30 Sep 2022, Edition - 2635, Friday

Trending Now

  • Delhi reports 88 new cases, 82 recoveries & zero deaths in the past 24 hours. Positivity rate at 1.01%
  • India sharpens stand on Ukraine war but business as usual with Russia
  • Senior advocate R Venkataramani appointed as the new Attorney General of India for a period of three years.


AIADMK local body candidates announced

Covai Post Network


Chennai: The ruling AIADMK in Tamil Nadu on Monday announced the list of candidates for the local body elections in all 12 corporations and district panchayat wards.

Present mayors S Soundappan (Salem), M S R Jaya (Trichy) and Savithri Gopal (Thanjavur) was given another chance, besides Coimbatore deputy mayor Leelavathi Unni and Trichy deputy mayor J Seenivasan was also in the selected list.

Chennai mayor Saidai S Duraisamy was not included in the list, which was released by AIADMK supremo and chief minister J Jayalalithaa.

Former MP and slum clearance board chairman N Balaganga (ward 78), former Thiruvottiyur MLA K Kuppan (ward 7) former Villivakkam MLA J C D Prabakar (ward 80), and former Velachery MLA K P Kandan (ward 184) will contest in Chennai.

Tirupur district secretary M.S.M Anandan will contest from ward 24, former Trichy mayor and TMC leader Sarubala R Thondaiman who joined AIADMK recently, has been nominated for the ward 44.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter