• Download mobile app
06 Oct 2022, Edition - 2641, Thursday

Trending Now

  • Delhi reports 88 new cases, 82 recoveries & zero deaths in the past 24 hours. Positivity rate at 1.01%
  • India sharpens stand on Ukraine war but business as usual with Russia
  • Senior advocate R Venkataramani appointed as the new Attorney General of India for a period of three years.


Nov 19 polls: Filing of nomination ends

Covai Post Network


Filing of nominations for elections that are scheduled to be held on November 19 for three Assembly constituencies – Thanjavur, Aravakurichi and Thirupparankundram – ended today.

The AIADMK, DMK, BJP, DMDK and PMK have fielded candidates, while the PWF and other parties have announced boycotting the polls. Almost all leading candidates have submitted their papers already.

Today, the BJP candidate for Thirupparankundram, Srinivasan, filed his papers to returning officer Jeeva. He was accompanied by party’s State unit president Tamilisai Soundararajan and others.

While Thirupparankaundram will see a by-poll, Thanjavur and Aravakurichi constituencies will go to polls for the first time as the Election Commission postponed elections originally scheduled in May, due to ‘large scale malpractices’.

In all, 2,00347 voters including 1,03247 male and 97,100 females will exercise their franchise on November 19 in 245 polling stations in Aravakurichi Assembly constituency. A total of 276 polling booths would be set up for 2,68,516 voters – 1,38,352 male, 1,30,146 female and 18 trans genders – in Thanjavur constituency.

In the Assembly elections held on May 16, AIADMK retained power by winning 134 seats and DMK became the main opposition with 98 seats.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter