• Download mobile app
21 Oct 2021, Edition - 2291, Thursday

Trending Now

  • 34 dead as record rains lash Uttarakhand, trigger floods
  • Melbourne welcomes vaccinated Sydney residents without quarantine
  • India reports 14,623 new #COVID19 cases, 19,446 recoveries & 197 deaths in the last 24 hrs as per Union Health Ministry

India News

Assembly bypoll results: Parrikar wins Panaji seat, AAP leading in Bawana



Assembly bypoll results: Parrikar wins Panaji seat, AAP leading in Bawana

Edited by Shashank Shantanu
Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar has registered an easy win in the Assembly bypoll winning the Panaji seat by a margin of 4803 votes. In Delhi’s Bawana, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is locked in a prestige battle with the Bharatiya Janata Party and Congress.

BJP’s Vishwajeet Rane has bagged Goa’s Valpoi seat defeating Roy Naik of the Congress by a margin of 10,066 votes.

Arvind Kejriiwal’s AAP, which is facing an important test, appears set to win Bawana seat as its candidate Ram Chandra is leading the contest as per latest reports. Congress candidate Surender Kumar is running second while BJP’s Ved Parkash is on the third spot.

By-election was necessitated in Bawana after Aam Aadmi Party MLA Ved Prakash quit the party and resigned from the Assembly seat to join the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The results are crucial for all the three political parties who had exuded confidence to win the seat.

While the AAP is hoping to pass this litmus test by reclaiming the seat and putting a stop to its waning popularity, the BJP is trying to continue its winning streak after the Rajouri Garden Assembly bypoll and municipal corporations election.

The Congress is also hoping to open its account in the 70-member Assembly by winning this seat.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter