• Download mobile app
02 Mar 2021, Edition - 2058, Tuesday

Trending Now

  • Gujarat: Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal holds road show in Surat, 3 days after the Gujarat civic polls.
  • Covid-19 vaccination: Registration of beneficiaries on Co-WIN for 2nd phase to start from March 1
  • India’s cumulative COVID-19 vaccination coverage has crossed 1.34 crores, says Union Health Ministry
  • India allows Pakistan PM Imran Khan to use airspace while flying to Colombo
  • Mathura will break ego and arrogance of BJP: Priyanka Gandhi
  • Farmers will gherao Parliament if government doesn’t repeal three agriculture laws: Tikait

India News

Uttar Pradesh Assembly bypolls: Tundla seat braces for BJP-SP direct fight tomorrow



Of the seven Uttar Pradesh Assembly seats going to polls on Tuesday in the byelection, the Tundla constituency is witnessing a somewhat different contest. The Tundla constituency in the Firozabad district is a reserved (SC) assembly seat where the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Opposition Samajwadi Party (SP) are in direct contest.

Originally held by the BJP, the Tundla seat was vacated after the sitting MLA SP Singh Baghel won the Lok Sabha election. While the BJP eyes a victory in Tundal to keep this seat in Uttar Pradesh Assembly, the Samajwadi Party aims to snatch

The SP has fielded a strong candidate from the Dhangar community on this seat, posing a tough challenge for the BJP. A total of 10 candidates are in the fray at Tundla seat.

The BSP has tried to make it a triangular fight. However, it appears to be a fight is between two Dhangar candidates from the BJP and the SP.

The Congress is not in contention at the Tundla seat as its candidate Sneh Lala’s nomination form was rejected by the Election Commission.

Over 3.60 lakh voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in the Tundla Assembly constituency. The votes will be counted on November 10. The Election Commission has readied 558 polling parties for the election and three super zonal magistrates have been deputed to oversee the bypolls.

On Sunday, the BSP and the BJP candidates Sanjeev Chak and Prempal Singh Dhangar held road-shows in which people’s participation was higher than the limit of 20 persons including the candidate as mandated by the Election Commission. Several people in the road-show were not seen wearing masks or following social distancing norms.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter