• Download mobile app
04 Oct 2022, Edition - 2639, Tuesday

Trending Now

  • Delhi reports 88 new cases, 82 recoveries & zero deaths in the past 24 hours. Positivity rate at 1.01%
  • India sharpens stand on Ukraine war but business as usual with Russia
  • Senior advocate R Venkataramani appointed as the new Attorney General of India for a period of three years.


AIADMK-DMK candidates file nominations for Thanjavur

Covai Post Network


Thanjavur: The candidates of the two major Dravidian parties, the AIADMK and the DMK, filed nomination papers today for the Thanjavur constituency.

AIADMK candidate M Rangaswamy filed his nomination papers with revenue divisional officer C Suresh, in the presence of former mayor Savithri Gopal, the party’s Karanthattangudi zone leader Arivudainambi and Fort area secretary Punniyamoorthy.

Earlier, Rangaswamy garlanded the statue of MGR located in front of the railway station and the statue of Anna located near the old bus stand, from where AIADMK cadres took out a procession to the revenue divisional office.

According to the affidavit filed by Rangaswamy, the total value of the movable and immovable properties both by him and his wife Indira is Rs 1,01 crore. He also owns a hand revolver worth Rs 1 lakh.

Rangaswamy, 60, who is now the party’s north district secretary, was elected from Thanjavur constituency as MLA in the 2011 Assembly elections. He defeated DMK candidate and former minister S N M Ubayadullah by a margin of 7,329 votes. He DMK rival for the upcoming polls is Dr Anjugam Boopathy.

Dr Anjugam, a medical doctor by profession, filed her nomination papers with C Suresh in the presence of the party’s urban town secretary TKG Neelamegam, north district secretary Kalyanasundaram and Congress district president T Krishnasamy Vandayar.

According to her affidavit, the total value of movable and immovable properties owned both by Dr Anjugam and her dependent V Roopavathi is Rs 31 lakh, including 27 sovereigns of gold.

Four candidates, including an independent candidate, have so far filed their nominations for Thanjavur constituency.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter