• Download mobile app
23 Jan 2021, Edition - 2020, Saturday

Trending Now

  • Delhi Police to decide on farmers’ entry into capital, SC says
  • Will incorporate ‘Karnataka-occupied areas’ in Maharashtra: CM Uddhav Thackeray
  • Indian players have been tested to the cricketing and mental limits every turn, every minute: Gavaskar


29 candidates file 36 papers in Thanjavur

Covai Post Network


Thanjavur: Twenty-nine candidates, including a woman, have filed 36 nomination papers for the November 19 elections for Thanjavur constituency.

Sixteen candidates filed 23 nominations today, the last day for filing papers. This included DMDK’s V. Abdullah Sait, BJP’s M.S. Ramalingam and PMK’s G. Kunjithapadam.

DMK’s Dr. Anjugam Boopathy is the lone woman candidate for the constituency.

Filing of nominations for Thanjavur constituency began on October 26. Till September 31, 11 nomination papers were filed by eight candidates including AIADMK’s M Rangasamy, Dr Anjugam Boopathy and Naam Tamizhar Katchi’s A Nalladurai. On November 1, five candidates filed nominations.

The nominations will be scrutinised tomorrow and the last date for withdrawal of papers is November 5.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter