• Download mobile app
19 Mar 2019, Edition - 1344, Tuesday

Trending Now

  • 2019 Lok Sabha elections: Vijayakanth’s DMDK names candidates in Tamil Nadu
  • SP-BSP alliance capable of defeating BJP in Uttar Pradesh: BSP supremo Mayawati
  • One Jawan martyred and three Army personnel injured in Pak shelling in Sunderbani sector.
  • Lok Sabha polls 2019: BJP eyes historic success in Himachal Pradesh once again
  • Manohar Parrikar’s last rites to be held today in Panaji, funeral procession is at 4 PM.


KOMET to chug into Kochi from Oct 3

Covai Post Network

Kochi: Kochi Metro (KOMET) is all set to make its entry into the city on October 3.

After beginning its maiden run from Aluva to Palarivattom a few months ago, KOMET’S entry into the city up to Maharajas College ground will be a great relief to the people struggling from road blocks. Commissioner for Metro Rail Safety (CMRS) gave its nod to the 5 km-stretch that has five stations – Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Kaloor, Lissie, M.G. Road and Maharaja’s College Ground stations.

Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan will inaugurate the extension of the service at Ernakulam Town Hall on October 3. Union Minister of State for Urban Development Hardeep Singh Puri will preside over the event. The CM will flag off the service from Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium station and travel with the Union Minister up to the new destination at Maharaja’s College station.

The first phase between Aluva and Palarivattom was inaugurated by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on June 17. The total distance covered by the Kochi metro would become 18 km with 16 stations with the launch of the second phase.

The work on the third phase between Maharajas College ground and Petta is progressing fast and is likely to be completed in two years. There are six stations in this section namely Ernakulam south, Kadavanthra, Elamkulam, Vytila, Thaikoodam and Petta.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter